Fishing & Hunting Licenses

General Information: A general hunting, fishing or archery license is not required for minors under 16 years of age. Minors are, however, required to purchase the following special licenses: Special Archery Deer, Turkey Permit, Bear License and Unit M special Deer tag. Non-resident minors under the age of 16 are also required to purchase a muzzle loader license. Minors are not required to pay a Wildlife Habitat Fee or file a Harvest Information Survey (HIP).

Residency Requirement: A New Hampshire resident is someone who holds a valid NH Driver’s license or Non Driver Photo Identification issued by the State of NH Division of Motor Vehicles and does not claim a residence in any other state for any purpose.

Hunter Safety Education Requirements: By state law, anyone planning to buy a hunting, archery or trapping license must complete the respective hunter, bow hunter, or trapper education course, or show a previously issued license of the same type.

Freshwater Fishing Licenses: Allow the taking of all species in the freshwaters of the state. Temporary 1-, 3-, and 7-day Fishing Licenses are available to non-residents, dates for use intended will be requested at the time of purchase and the dates must be consecutive. One-day licenses are also available for NH residents.

Senior Licenses - NH Residents Only:

Discounted licenses are available for resident seniors who turn age 68 on or after January 1, 2016. License types available include: Senior Combination Hunting & Fishing, Senior Fishing, Senior Muzzleloader, and Senior Archery. Must be purchased annually, online or at an agent. Over Age 68 Permanent Licenses are available free to residents of New Hampshire who were born on or before December 31, 1947 (not valid if the license holder moves out of state). Obtain at Fish and Game headquarters in Concord or regional offices 1 (Lancaster), 2 (New Hampton) or 4 (Keene). Permanent license holders must create their own deer tags, or they may use the generic tag in the back of the hunting digest.

Clam and Oyster Licenses: Available to New Hampshire residents only. Season is restricted. 

Saltwater Fishing: A NH Recreational Saltwater Fishing License is required, with a fee of $11, for individual anglers age 16 and older participating in recreational saltwater fishing for fin fish from coastal and estuarine waters of New Hampshire (both residents and non-residents need a license). 

Combination Hunting and Fishing License: Includes the privileges in Hunting and Freshwater Fishing. Does not include saltwater fishing privileges.

Hunting: This license entitles a person to take wildlife (including small game) during the open season; a deer tag is issued with this license.

Moose Hunting: Moose hunting is by special permit only.

New Hampshire’s Newborn Lifetime Combination Hunting and Fishing License: a special gift certificate offered by the New Hampshire Fish and Game Department for residents of New Hampshire.  The holder, upon reaching the age of 16, will be able to redeem it for a lifetime New Hampshire freshwater fishing license and (upon completion of the Hunter Education requirement) hunting license. This is an opportunity to provide newborn children (under one year of age) with perpetual future access to New Hampshire's hunting and freshwater fishing adventures at  the one-time price of $300 (plus $4.50 for habitat and agent fees). The Newborn Lifetime Combination Hunting and Fishing License gift certificate can be made only at the Fish and Game's headquarters office in Concord, NH, in person or by mail.  

*Duplicate License: A duplicate of a lost or destroyed current year license must be purchased at the license agent where the original license was purchased or at Fish and Game in Concord.